I admit I get a wee bit crazy at this time of year. Every year by the time March rolls around, we’ve usually had some great warm, spring like days and I start to dream about gardening. I’m not sure if it is actually those slightly warmer sunny days or if it is the longer hours of daylight, but I get antsy and can’t wait to get started. It’s a bit ironic because for years I ran dogsled tours and would be cursing the early spring thaw, wishing and praying for more snow to prolong the season. And now…

I haven’t been able to do much in the way of gardening in the last few years, although I had big gardens for many years. So this year has seen a big increase in plans for this coming spring & summer. We’re getting chickens and pigs and planning a pretty decent sized garden. To that end, I’ve already started tomatoes, yellow & red peppers, cucumber, zucchini, spaghetti squash, kale, broccoli, spinach, lettuce, chives & parsley. There’s more to get going, but until I get the greenhouse fixed up, I have no more room in the house. And of course then there are the veggies and flowers that have to be started outside, once the danger of the last frost is past.

For the first time since 2008, we’ll have chickens again and I learned long ago that it was to my benefit to buy birds that have either just started or are about to lay. I bought a rooster yesterday and he’ll make the move here once I get the coop built. I have a line on some year old, just starting to lay hens and so the push is on to get a coop built. As soon as it is the girls will be coming home. The piglets have been ordered and should be here some time around the end of April. I’m so excited and a wee bit frustrated as here I sit, planning and plotting and trying to be patient because we still have two feet of snow on the ground and it isn’t leaving any time soon!

It should be interesting to see how the seedlings do, because I haven’t had much luck in the past when starting from seed. Of course, because of that, this year I planted  way too many of each and they’ve already had to be transplanted into bigger pots. Most of the plants are just two weeks old today!

I’ve just put the word out that I’m looking for someone to dismantle the temporary horse shelter we put up last fall so we can re-purpose the wood to build the chicken coop. And with what is left over, we’ll get the pig shelter built. We’ll worry about something in the fall for the horses, because they barely used the shelter we built this year, except to poop in. Apparently the trees here are big enough and they were happier under them than in the lean-to.

So baby and spring fever has hit and I’m just waiting for the big thaw to happen.

Here are pics of the breeds of birds we are getting: Lavender Orpington’s The rooster is actually our new boy.

imagesuez2he86 A few of these lovelies: Buff Orpington’s

And with any luck a few of these beautiful Amercauna’s:

 

And then there are the piglets: imagesjgrzsj52

The veggies:

I can hardly wait! Woo HOO come on spring 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “Spring Fever

  1. How exciting! I envy your getting animals. I’ve decided at my age to stick to a large garden and forego animals, but I have fond memories. Had Buff Orpingtons and loved them, but never saw those Lavender ones. How neat!

    Like

  2. I’m in awe of your energy, frankly. 🙂

    I assume the pigs are for eating. At least they’ll have had a good life and you know where your food is coming from. I admit I would grow attached to any Beings under my care and couldn’t eat them. No problem eating the bacon from the farmer down the road, though–as long as I didn’t get to know the pig(s) first!

    But fresh eggs…! Oh, nothing beats fresh eggs. The taste is wonderful. I imagine that different breeds of hens would lay eggs that taste a bit different too, or am I out in left field on that?

    Like

    1. Hey Cuz…Yes the pigs are for eating and farm raised, range free eggs taste so much better. The yolks are actually orange instead of pale washed out yellow. I don’t have any problem raising for meat – especially since we will just load them up and take them to a butcher, so I don’t have to do the deed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

