They say that if you don’t like the weather in the Cariboo – wait five minutes.

That has certainly been true so far this year. Slowly, ever so slowly spring is unfolding and it has been a busy time around here. Over the last few weeks we have been preparing for our piglets to arrive amidst varying degrees of snow, rain, hail, wind and sun. In spite of the unseasonably wet and cold temperatures the ground is finally drying out.

The chickens are all laying now, although the Lavender Orpington girls are alternating every other day. Black Copper Marans chicks and also waiting to hear about a few turkey poults. If all goes well all the new poultry babies will be here by mid-May. Our piglets will be available May 7th, which gives us another week to get their pen finished. This week I built their shelter and although it isn’t pretty it is more than sufficient. I am impressed with my efforts, because I’m not a builder and with some big physical limitations, I did it all by myself. 🙂  There is a still a bit of work to be done before it is completely done but it’s a start.

In between rain and hail showers I’ve started transplanting rhubarb out of the pig pen area and been doing a LOT of yard clean up.

There’s still a lot of work to do and I’m chipping away at the small stuff then when Tom is home on the weekends we do some of the heavy stuff – fence line and brush clearing so we can re-wire the fences to make it safer for all our animals.

Last weekend I moved all my  seedlings out to the greenhouse and so far they are all doing pretty well especially considering that we’ve had a couple of night that fell below freezing – again. These pics were taken before I got everything planted.

 

 

I’m off to  check out to see if my girls have finished laying yet today… they start at 10 am and go through until about 2:00 pm…

 

Leave a Reply

